Ho Ho Ho guys! It’s been ages since I posted on here and despite the million and one resolves to revive this blog, this is the day the Lord has made!

This year has been something else and I mean that in every sense, but mostly in a good way because boy has it been a ride. Growth has been the word that has resonated in my mind since the genesis of 2019 and has been the filter with which the sequence of my days played out. Like a vehicular beacon, it beamed without apology, but with warm colours, in a way that it brought to my understanding that it was for the better.

I must admit that I was anxious about the unknown, knowing fully well from past experiences that growth was just a bland prick with a salty laughter and so no, I could not trust the process, but guess what, I did. And no, growth wasn’t bland (ok, sometimes), but trusting the process (to God ofcourse) was the best decision ever.

And so that brings me here. Back to my first love; writing. People have their silent and subtle pleasures that allow for them to feel alive or whatever, be it soaking in the feel of rain, nursing a precious cactus or exploring the world in wanderlust. Whatever, that may be you, writing is to me and I feel like this year went by so fast and beautifully, I was not able to write as much as I should have. Though I made a bold move by getting a poetry Instagram and actually posting (I barely even post on mine!). You can check it out here. 

With all that 2019 has taught me, one thing that stands out is that the pidgin phrase ‘time no dey ‘ (meaning there’s no time) is both true and false depending on how you see it. I’d like for you to imagine speeding at 120km/h, wind in your hair under the blazing sun. Now that was me. Juggling work, relationships, church and my business was one tedious ride on the highway, and realizing halfway through the year that I wasn’t living enough was a wakeup that couldn’t have come soon enough. I began to infuse intentionality into my actions; be it talking to God or stirring a cup of coffee, and that helped me assess a lot of things in my life.

In my next post, I will go more into the lessons I learned and unlearned in 2019. Nonetheless, it feels good to be back!

 

With Light,

Maxinne

 

Leave a comment